arienettelyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i didn't write this, so it may actually be intelligent

this came from the incubus website, under the band bio. i thought it was a really good....something. i dunno. brandon is cool. pacman needs to read this:)

ok...so the stuff in bold is what brandon wrote. it's also in quotes! and the stuff in parentheses was written by me. it don't take a rocket scientist to figure it out.


"I have always idolized eccentric people; old storytellers with scraggly beards, Sadhus covered in the ashes of their brothers, street performers, contortionists, mediums, magicians, painters and poets for example. They seemed to demonstrate to me the ideals that I could never find in amongst the throws of everyday life. And part of what intrigued me about this world of others was the fact that they didn't exist on the surface. You had to go 'below', so to speak, to find them. In books, rumors and shadowed corners was and is where they continue to thrive. It was in pursuit of these ideals which led me towards MUSIC and to the people I make music with. And by holding onto those things sacred to me and us we have been able to circumvent the conventionalism which frightened me into action in the first place. Which brings us to now..."

(then there's a bunch of crap about the morning view cd...)

"...we wrote what is in my opinion our best record yet.

I hope that some who listen to it agree. I am aware that many will not, for stratospheric string orchestrations, Disney-esque, trip-hop escapades, lyrics about contentment under a full moon, and not a shred of rap in our metal usually spells trouble for a rock band with aspirations of success. But if two of you out there enjoy it as much as we enjoyed creating it, I will feel like we accomplished worlds. And for those who don't like it, you can bite me. Our record cover will look great even in the used CD bin."

(then there's more crap about the songs on morning view...)

"I am sure that we are all aware of how ridiculous the idea of a band biography really is. Especially one about a band who has accomplished very little in retrospect. The word in itself (biography) invokes the thought of self importance, large unnecessary adjectives and an 8x10 picture showing you all how vain we really are. But it is a necessary evil, for now. And if it in any way, large or small allows us more time and resource to continue pursuing OUR idea of eccentricity and trancenDANCE than I am willing to bend a little. So if you have any questions regarding therapy, Pirate-Core, tour bus full contact grappling, plastic surgery, who slept with whose girlfriend and or any other inquiries... please don't hesitate to refer to our website message board, where every rumor you hear, read and or come up with all by yourself is 100% true.

Cheers,

-brandon"


yeah....you know brandon rocks:)

2:39 p.m. - 2003-03-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sk1ttles
unclebob
usinclair
mishmelia
mansonwookie
andrew
rivaldi22
punkdude1
thisisvague
lesslikemath
erinjadem