arienettelyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Skate & Surf

Take a deep breath people. Or maybe that's what I have to do. This is gonna be LONG. No joke. And you better fucking read it all because there might be some important information buried somewhere in here. Seriously. And then one day I could ask you about it, or maybe just allude to it in some way, like if I said �Oh man, it was totally like that time at Skate & Surf when I missed My Chemical Romance because I had to pee!� And you�ll be like...what??? BECAUSE YOU DIDN�T READ IT!!!

So now that I�ve convinced you...

The weekend started off poorly with Jon Peter Lewis being voted off American Idol. Since we�ve already discussed this, I will be brief. This made me sad. I wrote JPL on my chucks to show my support...to whom, I�m not sure. To myself, I guess.

DAY 1

We left a little after 9. I ate a donut for breakfast and it was totally not a good idea. Felt sick the whole car ride down.

The car ride was pretty uneventful unless you count the lovely smell that is New Jersey. Seriously...they should do something about that. We had some slight difficulties finding the hotel, which was a Travelodge in some town whose name escapes me. Belmar, maybe? It doesn�t matter, it had a Wendy�s near it. Kenny called while we were checking in to ask where we were. I told him we were at the hotel. He said call him when we get there. I said right on, dude. Well, not that exactly, but something to that effect. Then we ate lunch at Wendy�s. I didn�t feel good so I didn�t finish my food. I later regretted this.

We brought our stuff into the hotel room and then left for Asbury Park. We found it without any major difficulties and called Kenny to find out where he was. It took awhile for us to find him even though he was basically standing right in front of us. He was with Ashley, his cousin Justin, and this girl Amanda who I guess is a friend of Ashley. We joined them on line (they were very near the front!) and...things happened. Tons of various frightening people walked by. Plus Parker from JamisonParker! I saw him a few times even though I wasn�t 100% sure it was him until they played later...Large Angry Security Guard informed us we could not bring any kind of cameras inside, even though the website specifically said we could have disposables...so we all took the pictures on our disposables and Justin took the film because he knew how to take them apart and he works at CVS so he�s gonna get them developed. Maybe. I don�t really know. Then we got searched and went inside. We went into the main arcade area of the Convention Hall and looked around, and I guess Ashley spotted some of the guys from Motion City Soundtrack but didn�t want to talk to them because she was nervous or whatever so Kenny just went over and was all �Aren�t you in Motion City Soundtrack?� or something like that and they had a jolly conversation while we waited around. I had no interest in talking to them because I really don�t do that, and what the hell would I say to them anyway? I know exactly one MCS song. Anyway, we went into the Paramount theater and watched a band called Stafford play. I liked them. There were comfy seats in there. Me and Randy sat and the others went up to the front. And we didn�t really see them after that.

We left the theater and wandered into the main stage area and sat our asses down to watch people skate because they had some stuff set up in front of the stage. There was a little kid and two kids who were probably teenagers. The kid was adorable in his little helmet. The boys were yummy. I didn�t think so at first but after like half an hour of watching them skate I wanted them. After the two of them finished, we left and Randy got some merch. It was cold, so I got a Skate and Surf hoodie. Randy got the coolest Taking Back Sunday Shirt ever. We are definitely sharing that one!!! He also got...Brand New shirts? I don�t know. It doesn�t matter. I think then I peed. That was an adventure. Took forever. We went back into the main stage area and sat down again. The little kid was still skating but he was joined by a skinny guy with glasses. We watched them...then they stopped...a band started playing at 4:20. They were The Youth Ahead. I think we heard half a song before we left.

We got wristbands and went outside. Lux Courageous was playing on the Boardwalk stage so we listened to them and watched these two emo boys walk down to the ocean together. I wanted to see them make out, since it was my dream to see two boys make out this weekend, but sadly it didn�t happen. They walked out onto the rocks and went behind the Convention Hall and out of my life forever. We waited for them to come back, but they didn�t, so we decided to go back inside and get ready for Piebald. They wouldn�t let us through the arcade doors and said we had to go to the front door, which they really should have told us before we left...because the line to get back in was GIANT and ridiculous. We were about to get on the line when I heard the sounds of The Rocket Summer coming from the other outdoor stage and went over there. It was blue sky song, the name escapes me. I was totally confused, since they were supposed to play at 3:30, and it was almost 5...I had decided that we had to miss them since if you wanted to see a band outside before 4 you had to wait to actually go inside until after that because there was no leaving until after 4...it was all very confusing. But anyway, we saw their last song. That kid...whoa. He was all happy and la and �God bless you� and all of these things. He made everyone make a circle so he could dance in it. I don�t think I could have handled a whole set of him, but the one song was nice.

Then we realized we actually got to wait on a slightly shorter line since we had wristbands. Large Angry Security Guard was back in full force, barking about how last year he didn�t let the re entry people have a different line and we should be grateful for his sympathy. He was fucking nutty. I got to share amused/scared raised eyebrows with a kid standing next to me, which was nice, since I hardly ever share eyebrows with anyone!

Eventually we went in and got searched even more than before. We went back to the main stage and Piebald were playing. The lead singer was the geeky skinny guy that was skating before! They didn�t sing King of the Road, unless they played it before we got in. They did sing 2 songs I knew though, so that was thrilling. They were really good.

After that we went up and sat down to watch Hot Rod Circuit. They were alright. I don�t know anything about them so...that�s all I got. Then we walked around the upstairs merch tables. It was hot up there. And cold everywhere else. Then we sat down again for Andrew WK. Randy got a pretzel and a soda. I didn�t get anything because I didn�t feel good/I am lazy.

Andrew WK...did his thing. The guy is mental. He was kicking and being dirty and...it was just disturbing. I seriously dislike his music...but he did make me want to dance! I didn�t, of course. These two old(ish) people in front of us (who confused me since they didn�t have any kids with them, like most of the older people there) got totally disgusted with him when he said �motherfucker.� They left soon after. I found that ridiculously funny. I was kinda surprised that he swore though, because I didn�t think he did that. Anyway, he eventually finished. After telling us that we had to have fun because we might all die tomorrow. Comforting!

Coheed came on at 8. They were good. Claudio�s fro is so precious. They sang songs. None of which was Time Consumer. But I�m used to that. They did Devil in Jersey City and Everything Evil...songs from the new album...blah blah blah.

During their last song we started to get moving out of there so we could see JamisonParker on the arcade stage at 8:40. It was difficult! I got trapped behind a garbage can and couldn�t really move until some bleeding guy pushed his way through and I used his path. We got a nice spot for JamisonParker and then they played. The arcade stage has really bad acoustics. Like...every band that played there sounded shitty. But I enjoyed them anyway. Parker�s mic was bouncing every time he went near it. Those two boys are yummy. I would love to see them make out. Sadly, it didn�t happen. After their set Parker was walking around and Randy wanted me to go talk to him, but as we discussed earlier, I don�t do that. And also he was wandering around with a confused look on his face and kids kept stopping him, and I know that would annoy me. So yeah. He was chilling with the old(ish) people we were sitting near before, probably his parents. How thrilling! He really is precious.

So we just waited around until 10, when Sugarcult came on. They played Hate Every Beautiful Day, She�s the Blade, Bouncing off the Walls, Memory, Pretty Girl...and others. Tim said Brand New was one of his favorite new bands. Just to remind us that they�re old, I guess. Then there was a mass exodus back into the main stage area for Brand New. They started a few minutes later.

For once, I didn�t hate them. Jesse�s cockiness still bugged me, but they sounded good. At the end of...some song he sang a little bit of Yellow. It was odd. They did...hm...Jude Law, Guernica, Sic Transit Gloria, The Boy Who Blocked His Own Shot, that long song about being on the road....70x7 (without any of There�s No I in Team or Straylight song, for once), the last song on the first album...what is that called? Soco Amaretto Lime? Yeah. They played some other things as well. Then they finished and we all left. We find my dad with the car, which has a flat tire. Randy changes the tire. It takes a long time. It�s freezing. My grandma was pacing around covering her ears, it was kinda funny. We drove back to the hotel on the donut and finally got to bed around 1:30.

DAY 2

We woke up around 9 the next morning, and my dad and Claire went to eat breakfast and get a new tire. Randy and I tried to go back to bed, but watched Lizzie McGuire and ate Cheese Nips instead. I got another call from Kenny asking us if we were on line, which was funny because I was still in bed. Haha! I took a shower, and it was so powerful! Unfortunately I had forgotten my razor and shampoo. They had shampoo, but I was razorless. We left around 12:30 and had lunch at Wendy�s again. I again started feeling sick and didn�t finish. Randy got a phone call from mom and was screamed at for his math grades or something.

We got to the Convention Hall around 1:30 and waited on a long line to get in. They had different people running the show, so it was more efficient. Those ladies didn�t take no shit. We got in and went right to the main stage and sat down. Randy did Calculus homework. I was bored. I didn�t want to see any band until 6:45, and it was only a little after 2.

Underoath started playing, and I enjoyed their set. Although I can�t remember to much about it. I think their lead singer was super skinny.

Avenged Sevenfold played, and I did not like their singer. I could deal with the music, but...yuck. I entertained myself by watching the pit, which included a midget and a kid with what looked like police tape wrapped around him.

Against Me was next. I think I went to the bathroom during them. Either way, I don�t remember shit about them. I think I also had a slice of pizza and a mountain dew around this time.

Then came Hazen St. I did not like them. And not because they didn�t wear tight pants, which is what they seemed to believe. They were all, don�t hate us because we�re different! We don�t wear tight pants because we have to be ourselves. Implying that all the other bands there aren�t being themselves. And this band was so original and independent. They were rap rock, is what they were. And no one liked them because they didn�t belong there. They were obnoxious, too, screaming at everyone to get their lazy asses up. Good way to win the crowd over. Anyway, they left us alone eventually. After them we spotted Kenny and his posse so I went down and talked with them for a bit. Around this time, Randy got us some smoothies. They came with an umbrella and tasted yummy, but they stained our hands.

5:50 brought us Senses Fail. The music was alright. The lead singer was...limber. Apparently he�s also an asshole. I didn�t notice this, but whatever. After they played I had to pee again, and quite badly. I figured I�d have time before My Chemical Romance came on at 6:45. Wrong.

My Chemical Romance started with...Our Lady of Sorrows? I was still on line, but I was actually inside the bathroom complex at this point and did not want to leave my spot since I had to pee oh so bad. On a side note, when I finally did go to the bathroom, there was a dirty pad sitting on the back of the toilet. NICE! Then MCR played a new song. I think I got back when they were starting their 3rd song. Which I think was that think happy thoughts song. Gerard told us that suicide is bad! Call 1-800-SUICIDE! Yes! They also played Honey This Mirror...and Vampires Will Never Hurt You and some other songs I knew, plus new songs. New album in June, yay! Gerard said they only play for sexy people, like us, and �like my mom!!! That�s my fucking mom!� Haha. She must have been so proud.

After MCR we rushed out to the arcade stage to see Boy Sets Fire but some other band who I believe were Street Light Manifesto were still playing. The stage was late, boo. Kenny and his posse passed by again, informing us that we missed a secret acoustic Coheed show in Paramount. While MCR was on. Oh well. Would have watched MCR anyway. Anyway, I didn�t much care for Street Light Manifesto. It was about now that I noticed a gash on my left index finger with crusty dried blood around it. I still don�t know how I got it, but it continues to hurt like a bitch..

Eventually BSF came out with a cardboard cut out of Bush and played such classics as Release the Dogs, Rookie, My Life in the Knife Trade...and more! There were some new songs. Nate babbled about politics as usual. He said music has no substance anymore and he gets sick of people talking about how they want to kill themselves or whatever. Again, obviously trying to put down the whole emo genre. Which is kind of silly since...most of the kids there obviously enjoy it. Wordperfect keeps telling me emo is not a word. Fuck you, Wordperfect. Emo will take over the world. He covered himself though, by saying that he�s sure we were sick of hearing him talk. I know I was! He kissed the bass player though. On the lips. I was SO not turned on by that. Not what I was looking for in boykissing, that�s for sure. But I guess I�ll take what I can get.

After BSF we went back to the main stage and looked for seats to enjoy Story of the Year and Taking Back Sunday, but there were none to be found. We sat on the ground and then...Joan Jett came out. I don�t know what that was about. She sang songs about sex. Not horrible, but not really my thing.

Then Kenny and his posse appeared again, and we watched Story of the Year together. I am down with 3 Story of the Year songs, which I downloaded the demo versions of back in July. You�ve probably heard the song Until the Day I Die on the radio or MTV since it�s all over the place, but if you can find the demo version you should download it since it�s much better. On the album version they overproduced it and cut out a part that I like. Bastards. Anyway, they weren�t that bad. Kenny and his posse seemed to know all their lyrics. I knew my 3 songs. They�re not so bad live. Do you need this as bad as I do?

Then Kenny and Ashley and Justin left to see Moneen at 10:05 and I think Amanda stayed with us...then she went to find them when SOTY were done and they told her to call them when TBS started or something. We moved up front because I was inspired. Randy warned me that we were going to be in the shit, and I felt prepared. Kenny and Ashley and Justin found us, and it seemed that Kenny got into a bit of a verbal tussle with some dude. Not really sure though.

Taking Back Sunday came out and there was a big push, of course. I can handle big pushes. And being kicked and jostled and people running into me. What I couldn�t handle was 8 crowdsurfers at once. One of them bent my pinkie back very very far and I was in great pain. I noticed that Kenny and his posse were vacating and I decided to do the same. I was not in the mood to get hurt and be in pain all day on Sunday. It was sad, though. Shows are more fun when you�re in the shit. :(

I stood kinda near the back all by myself and enjoyed the show. Their set made me sad. Adam did not look well. He was going for the pirate look, with a black and red striped shirt. His hair was long and dirty. He just seemed so sad and in need of a hug. When he was singing Your Own Disaster I thought I was going to cry. It was just really emotional. Fred made a lame joke about something being his �cue� to start playing Cute Without the E...but that�s cute without the T...it might have not been Fred, I don�t know, I just like to blame all dumb things on Fred. Shut up Fred. Adam didn�t climb anything. Something must really be wrong. He looked so skinny. He looked like he was shaking and crying. By the end of their set I was just so depressed. They played new songs. Before one, he told us to listen to the lyrics and we�d know what it was about. This is funny because listening to Adam�s lyrics live is like...well, I don�t know what it�s like but it�s basically impossible. He usually just mumbles random things. Or screeches. That�s always fun. New album July 27. Happy day.

After that we left and found pappy, who thankfully was flat tireless this evening. Randy informed me that he had been in the shit and even got to feel up Adam. Oh, baby! We got to the hotel and I showered and me and Randy slept on the floor.

DAY 3

We got up and I tried to fix my hair for like an hour but nothing could be done. I lacked the supplies. I had slept with wet hair and it was gigantic curly mess. I wore my hood all day long because of this. We all ate at a diner. Many Skate and Surf kids were there. I again did not finish my food.

We got to the Convention Hall and got on a SUPER ridiculous line. We called Kenny to see if they were perchance already on the line, but they were eating at Howard Johnson�s (horror of horrors!!!). They said they�d call us when they were done. They did, and asked us where we were, but they never came to find us. Nor did they call us back. We were on line for a stupid amount of time. We got some ice cream from the ice cream truck. Then some people we ripping your tickets for a wristband, out on the street, and they said once you had a wristband you could go in by the arcade doors. So we went there, but since I had a bag they told us we had to go back to the main door, so we basically cut everyone. Oh well. The thing was handled terribly. I had to abandon my remaining ice cream.

We went into the Paramount theater and enjoyed the comfy seats and the music of None the Less. I honestly do not recall much about them, even though it was yesterday, but I think I liked them. Then we went to the main stage area for some Canadian action. We watched Boys Night Out with Kenny and the gang. I guess they got tangled up in the whole wristband fiasco as well. BNO were okay, not the greatest. Kenny and friends left during their set to go see...someone else. Don�t know who. The lead singer got a pink bra thrown at him and he put it on. Someone did this the day before too, but I can�t remember who. This guy kept it on for a while though. It wasn�t fastened though, so it kept coming down his arms and getting in the way of his rocking.

After they finished, we wandered into the arcade area and got some beverages while Pepper was playing. Didn�t really feel them. We looked at the pictures from last years Skate and Surf which were entertaining. At some point we did a lap around the upstairs merch tables. Found a little pocket schedule and some crappy Warped posters.

After that we went back to the main stage area and watched us some Early November. And by watched I mean listened to from the floor. We kept getting stepped on. I don�t see what the fuss is about with this band. I didn�t find them to be overly spectacular.

We went back into the Paramount and a band called New Direxion was playing. They were cool. We decided to stay in the theater until Straylight played since we didn�t really have any other bands we wanted to see. I decided to forego both Fall Out Boy and Matchbook Romance (Poughkeepsie represent!!!) because the arcade stage sucked balls and I don�t like those bands enough to deal with the horrible sound.

After New Direxion we moved up to the front middle of the theater. A band called Van Stone played next. They made this stage late. They took forever to set up and played longer than they were supposed to. They were old and dirty and sang songs about blowjobs and MILFs. The lead singer punched wood and their drummer had a neck brace and...I honestly don�t know what the fuck was up with them. But they had these diehard fans up front. It was painful to watch. They cut the sound on them but they kept trying to play...ohh it was bad. And apparently they got to play on 2 different days??? Are you kidding me???

Local H came on next, and I was pleasantly surprised by how much I dug them. There were only 2 of them! Crazy. During their last song I left to pee because I knew it would be an ordeal. Took 45 minutes. No joke. I had to listen to MxPx while I was on the line too. NO FUN! I went to the bathroom, and the dirty pad from last night was now actually stuck to the wall. I didn't see it at first, but when I turned to flush the toilet I came face to face with it and nearly screamed. WHY MUST PEOPLE BE SO FUCKING DISGUSTING?????? Anyway, I came back and they were playing the Thursday record! Oh, actually they were playing it before Local H too. And all these kids just sitting around were singing the words. It�s so weird to be at a place where Thursday isn�t even playing and have everyone know the words to all their songs. These are my people, man! The last song on the album was just about to end when The Format came out.

They were very yay! Their first song was super emo but they started picking it up a bit. I enjoyed them thoroughly and look forward to buying their CD. For some reason I thought they were at the Something Corporate/Rocket Summer show that�s here in a couple weeks, but sadly I am wrong. But anyway, they were good. There were like 6 people in that band. And then...they were done.

Straylight Run started setting up. John has a beard. Oh god does he have a beard. I was frightened at first, but it grew on me. Sean (Shawn? I really have no idea) was lacking in the hair department. Michelle was braided and scantily clad. The drummer...had a small fro. They started. People yelled John�s name. They sang a song I didn�t know, and then a bunch that I did. I think Michelle was off key all night. And also her mic was too loud. It was sad hearing John without Adam to balance out all his John-ness. He mentioned something about Freddy Got Fingered and I THOUGHT ABOUT YOU KRAMMY!!! AND ARION�S COCK!! (I made it big so you can see it as you just scroll down my entry since I know you aren�t reading it). Then I�m pretty sure someone yelled something horribly inappropriate along the lines of �Adam eats cock!� and John laughed. I can�t be 100% sure he was laughing at that particular thing, but if he was that�s not very nice! And he should have said that. There�s no reason to be childish. Even if it�s true. All in all, the band was bad but I wasn�t overly impressed either. That song that Michelle sang...I was not feeling that one. The last song they played was Existentialism on Prom Night, which is my favorite, and Michelle and John had to switch instruments. My only guess is that the piano part is too hard on that one for Michelle to handle. Then they were done and we left the theater. There were people lined up outside because the place had filled up to the max. Sparta was playing next, and I really wanted to see them but I was worried about getting back to the main stage to see Something Corporate in time.

Me and Randy got some pizza and sat down towards the back of the place and enjoyed our munchies. I saw two boys kinda rubbing each others backs and I got excited (especially since one of them was carrying a purse) but then they stopped and purseboy started like groping this girl and turned out the bag was hers...pshh. I definitely thought I might see some hot boykissing there. Oh yeah, The Bouncing Souls were playing through this. Me and Randy went outside for a bit and looked at the ocean. We were right by what looked like the place where the bands got to eat. There was a security guard making sure everyone that went by had a band thingie on. Josh from Something Corporate walked by! That was thrilling. We went back inside when The Bouncing Souls were done and found Kenny and his posse. Ashley promised to dance with me. Amanda asked me if I would stay in their hotel with them that night. I had to decline because 1) I didn�t want to and b) I had an 8:30 class today. I really don�t know why she would ask me this. Maybe I was being made fun of? I NEVER KNOW!

Something Corporate came on and were awesome as usual. They opened with Hurricane. They also did I Woke Up in a Car (Poughkeepsie represent, again!!!), 21 and Invincible, If U C Jordan, Space, Down, Konstantine, and they closed with Punk Rock Princess. They also did a short cover of Bittersweet Symphony, which I wasn�t really feeling, and in the middle of space they went into Hey Ya, which I really enjoyed. Randy acted like a freak the whole time. Kenny and Ashley were doing interesting dance moves. I got yelled at after for not dancing but...I don�t dance like that! And dammit, I did dance, in my own personal way. I even jumped! I swear to god I have never jumped for any band besides Something Corporate. But every time I see them I can�t help myself. They bring it out in me. Their energy is so ridiculous. I could gush for hours, but I�ll spare you. But if you ever have the chance, PLEASE go see this band live. If you live anywhere near me then you have the chance on May 11, when they play The Chance (haha, that�s funny, CHANCE!) so you have no excuses. They were easily my favorite band of the weekend, and I saw a LOT of bands.

After that, we shared tearful goodbyes with Kenny, Ashley, Amanda, and Justin and left before Yellowcard came on. And with that, Skate and Surf was over.

I tried to go into as much detail as I could remember for my own future purposes, and if you read this all you are my hero! It took me 3 hours to write...it�s over 5000 words....if only my Modern World paper was this long! (It�s about 2 words right now...my name).

In general, I had a good time. My only injuries are general soreness, a slight facial sunburn (I actually think it looks nice, I got some color!) and that ridiculous finger thing, which HURTS. The oddest thing about the weekend was seeing so many scene kids in one place. Usually, I see one at a time, and it�s exciting to see one, because they�re a rare find. But by the end of the weekend the emo hair and tight jeans and hoodies ceased to be overly exciting. I skipped my 8:30 this morning and didn�t do the work for my 2:00. The semester is ending soon and I�m definitely fucking myself over. I get like this at the end of every semester and I hate myself for it. I should get some work done. Enjoy the remainder of your evening!!

10:00 p.m. - 2004-04-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sk1ttles
unclebob
usinclair
mishmelia
mansonwookie
andrew
rivaldi22
punkdude1
thisisvague
lesslikemath
erinjadem