arienettelyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm trying, to forget that, I'm addicted to you

Well it's been a pretty eventful few days. Not really, but I probably sound cooler when I say that. But then again, maybe not.

If nothing else, it's been a happier few days.

The prospect of moving has made me happy in a nervous sort of way, you know? But yeah, whatever, let's get on to the GOODS, and by that of course, I mean the R.E.M concert!!!!

Oh man, that was lame...


So the concert was at Jones Beach, which is on Long Island. It's a HUGE outdoor theater. The first time I went there was 2 years ago, in late September, to see Weezer. We froze our asses off, no joke. So this time me and my dad came prepared. Lots of layers. I personally rocked jeans, a tank top, a big tan sweater, a white fleece sweatshirt thing, a zip up hoodie, a hat, and gloves.

Oh, before we got there we ate at this little pizza place in...M....something that started with an M on Long Island. Do you know it? Everyone was really loud in there. Long Island people freak me out.

Anyways, back to Jones Beach. The girl who ripped my ticket basically orgasmed all over me because I was wearing a Thursday hoodie. I mean, I'm down with Thursday fans and all, but Jesus Christ, I don't flip out when I see one. In my experience, they have been quite a common occurrence! But yeah, she was squealing. Literally.

"Oh my God, you like Thursday! They're like, SO totally my favorite band! That's so weird! No one I know has ever heard of them! Wow!!"

Yeah...troublesome. After we peed, we found our seats which were pretty damn good. Not front row or anything like that, but the other times I've been to Jones Beach I've had some shitty seats. This kid showed us to our seats and then wiped them off. I cracked up, and then felt bad because I guess I wasn't supposed to do that. Maybe we were supposed to tip him or something?

Pete Yorn came on around 7:30, and he definitely got his rock star on. I was not expecting that, but you go with the flow, right? He played...new songs and old songs. I knew the old songs, and not the new ones. Even though I didn't like the new album, those songs seemed to come across better live. Anyway, that guy should never not hold his guitar, he looks kind of silly without it. Seriously, have you ever seen Pete Yorn without a guitar? (Have you ever seen Pete Yorn at all?) I thought they were permanently attached! But for a few songs he took it off, and...danced. Him trying to get the mic off the mic stand was humorous, too. It kept getting tangled. He needs a haircut. All you could see was hair and a nose. A BIG ASS NOSE!!!! But yeah, the band was good, everything was good, my dad liked them, too.

After they left, they started setting up R.E.M's stuff. They had all these glittery hanging things, it was awesome. It's been a long time since I actually saw a band put on a SHOW, it was weird. The coolest thing was that while they were setting up their stuff, they were playing....the Saddle Creek compilation!!! So I got to hear The Faint, Cursive, Rilo Kiley, Now It's Overhead...I was a very happy camper! R.E.M has damn good taste.

Eventually, R.E.M came on, and I don't wanna waste too much time on what they sang, since....quite frankly, I didn't know 75% of what they sang! But, they did Drive, Strange Currencies, At My Most Beautiful, Nightswimming, Everybody Hurts, Losing My Religion, Imitation of Life, The One I Love, It's the End of the World as We Know It...and I'm out. They did a lot more too. I forgot what a beautiful song At My Most Beautiful is. I was tearing up!!

Michael was funny as hell. His dancing, for one thing, was priceless. I swear, he went to the same dance school as Thom. Amazing, no doubt. But yeah, he was actually funny when he talked, too. He asked everyone to take of their coats and make a tent with them to keep the wind from blowing on him. Then he talked about how Moby and Billy Corgan stole his haircut. He came out and sang an acoustic Interpol song. (He actually played the guitar himself, too!) He had the bassist help him take off his shirt. But then the bassist put up his arms and waited for Michael to help him, but he got left hanging. It was really funny. Everything was funny. He made funny jokes. He mentioned that they have a thing on their website where people can send in requests for certain shows, and that about 6% of the time they actually read it. I don't know, this isn't funny. It was funny if you were there, though.

They played for a really long time, and I was frozen by the end, but it was worth it because they rocked. I'd go see them again in a second. My dad loved it, too. He said, referring to Michael Stipe: "What a friendly guy!"

I swear, that made my fucking year. I got a wicked Pete Yorn shirt, it says Expose yourself to Pete Yorn, and it has this donkey...exposing himself...it's so great!


So today, I got up a little later than I should have, and showered and studied Psych for awhile. Then I cleaned the kitchen, ate dinner, watched Lizzie McGuire, and typed for my mom. Then at 9:30 I went and got Kenny so he could finally witness the magic that is the Lizzie McGuire movie, but I don't think he was as impressed as he should have been. My brother and him both commented on the idiocy of Gordo saying "Thanks"...but, I think that was the cutest part, because...I don't know! I'll stop now!

After that, we watched a little bit of SNL. I tried to get a nice shot of John Mayer's ass, but sadly there was none to be found, so I gave up, and Kenny and I read this interesting Simple Plan fanfiction out loud with really interesting voices. It was awesome, but then the story ended but it's not over yet, and...AHH!

So now it's 2am, and I have to pack, finish my mom's work, and finish my Psych work...in short, it's not gonna happen. In case you didn't know, for the next 3 days I will be in the beautiful state of New Jersey.

Yeah...

1:04 a.m. - 2003-10-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sk1ttles
unclebob
usinclair
mishmelia
mansonwookie
andrew
rivaldi22
punkdude1
thisisvague
lesslikemath
erinjadem