arienettelyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's always fun to ruin a Something Corporate show

I threw a tantrum tonight, and now I feel way shitty about it.

To start from the beginning...we met Ashley and Fernando down at Irving Plaza and waited on line...and then...someone yelled at me that Thursday sucked and I smiled at him and I guess that scared him cuz he went away. He yelled it cuz I was wearing my Thursday hoodie...but my Thursday hoodie doesn't even SAY Thursday on it, so I'm wondering if he hates Thursday so much how he knew that it was a Thursday hoodie. A burning question, I know.

Then there was the kid who was no older than 13 who came up to some kids on the line and asked who was playing tonight. They said Something Corporate and this kid just burst out laughing, and then he was like..."Oh no, no...that's cool...if you like that stuff. Someone should have punched him. It's a shame we can't all be as cool as the 13 year old boy wandering around NYC with his nice little hot topic tie, right? I am so totally jealous of him. Perhaps he could educate me on what good music is.

Anyway...We went in...bands played. Days Away and Mae were both slowish and, as Kenny nicely put it, homosexual. During Days Away one of the guys from Something Corporate was up on the balcony so all the 12 year old girls started screaming. The ratio of boys to girls was like...ridiculous. They should have a cutoff point on the number of girls, don't you think?

Everyone was pushing. Between the bands...it was kind of perplexing, but mostly just REALLY FUCKING ANNOYING!

So then the Rx Bandits play. I'm not a fan...they're really talented at all, but they are soooo far from what I like to listen to that I just didn't enjoy it at all. And I wanted them to end. It felt like they played forever.

So then Something Corporate came on and I forgot how pissed I was about being raped during RXB, because they were fucking awesome. The crowd was so into it. I don't think I've ever jumped that much. I don't know what they sang...Fall, Straw Dog, Space, Drunk Girl, I Woke Up in a Car, iF U C Jordan (did I spell that right??? haha...), I Wanna Save You (it might be called I Want to Save You, not sure), Wait, Konstantine, Only Ashes (I think), Down, Ruthless...that may be all we saw...ohhh Punk Rock Princess...they may have done more off of North, I don't have it with me right now though...moving on...

During one of the bouncy songs, Kenny smacked me in the eye REALLY hard and I'm afraid I'm going to have a black eye tomorrow. For now though, all I have is a really bad headache. I got him back though, because when they sang Konstantine I kinda went berserk, as usual. It was cool, they finished that song at exactly 11:11! But they said the 11:11 part at 11:08...they really should time that better!

So yeah...after Konstantine (the 10 minute epic ballad, lol), I wanted to leave. Because as previously stated, it was 11:11 and the train left at 11:58 and you never know how long it takes the subways to get there late at night. I did NOT want to have to take the 1:20 train...I have things to do tomorrow and stuff...so I tried to tell Kenny but they were already singing iF U C Jordan and it was too loud and then I just like....completely snapped. They started singing Only Ashes and I just like...died. I didn't want to be there, I wanted to leave and so after that song, I left. Kenny followed me and went to get his merch, and then Ashley and Fernando came and she was buying stuff, but I was getting really impatient (and then they started playing Down) and Ashley kept saying we wouldn't make the train but Kenny said we didn't even have to leave yet and we could still make the train and fuck I just wanted to leave, and I wasn't even asking them to come with me, I just wanted to go! But of course I was the one giving Kenny a ride home, so I just told him if he could get a ride with Ashley, then he can just stay and I'll go. So then I started leaving (I was kinda pissed off by this point) and I'm going down the stairs and Kenny followed me and I forget what he said...but it really pissed me off and I yelled something like "When you can provide your own fucking ride, than YOU can decide when we leave, but until then it's MY DECISION!!!" haha...I don't know what was wrong with me. But yeah...I kinda stormed out the doors. I was so pissed. But he followed me. And Ashley and Fernando came too, and they were both pissed to be leaving but...for fuck's sake...no one forced them to leave. And no one really forced Kenny to leave either, I'm sure he could have begged for a ride. I don't think Kenny was too upset about the whole leaving thing though, as much as the fact that I yelled at him.

So now basically I feel like I ruined everyone's time...except mine, maybe, because I had a good time until I went psycho-bitch on everyone. I apologized but I still feel really bad, although I do believe my actions were justified...we probably missed like 2 songs...I'm actually just sorry that I yelled...I don't yell...like ever...

Oooh one more thing that you won't care about...they did Wait, like I said before (but I doubt you read the song list) and it's an old song, which I have never heard them do live and it's one of my favorite off of their first album (which you can't really get anywhere but I heard they're gonna release it on their site soon so STAY TUNED!) and...it was so wicked! The drummer came up and sang and Andrew put his feet up and it was acoustic and it was SO GREAT, even though I hardly remembered the words since I haven't listened to it in awhile. Good stuff, though. They also did an acoustic (and by that I mean...just piano?) version of I Want to Save You, and it was throwing everyone off with the timing. It was awesome though. I would love to see a whole set of just Andrew on the piano playing the songs like...as he originally wrote them. I think it would be orgasmic.

So basically...Something Corporate rocks. They have amazing energy and it's obvious that they truly love what they're doing and they don't have any mixed motives (or confetti). Go see them live. Just don't go with me, because I'll make you leave early and have a terrible time.


This is bad...I just went to Thursday's website, basically praying that they'd cancelled tomorrow's show (because I really don't want to go and that's the only way I can get out of it) and I got all excited cuz it said "Due to unforseen circumstances Thursday have had to cancel their performance..." but it's for Monday, god dammit. And rumor is the unforseen circumstance is doing Conan Obrien. Which is exciting. Monday isn't even their show, they're just opening for the Deftones (...?) so if they're skipping it for Conan that's pretty rad. Conan + Thursday = awesome radness.

I am a sorry excuse for a human being.

2:12 a.m. - 2003-11-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sk1ttles
unclebob
usinclair
mishmelia
mansonwookie
andrew
rivaldi22
punkdude1
thisisvague
lesslikemath
erinjadem