arienettelyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Michael Moscovitz is hot

I wrote this like a week ago, but I'm pasting it here, just for...consistency.


3/23/04 2AM

I don't think I've ever used the phrase "What the fuck?" quite as many times as I did tonight. Of course, it wasn't without reason.

I'm gonna skip the non-important stuff....train ride, subway, la la...oh, we actually got to Irving without walking around in circles this time. HIGH FIVE!

So as soon as we're in the door, we head to the stairs to go to where the stage is, and some lady tells us that we have to try something before we leave, but neither of us heard what she said so we just nodded and moved along. We go up the stairs and instead of merch tables, there's like...this gigantic wall banner that says TINT or something. And then we look into the stage area and it's all dark, there's creepy people in black clothes and sunglasses walking around with cameras, and there's these little tables with long white table cloths...REALLY FUCKING WEIRD. Also, these spotlights were swirling around on the floor and they said Sunglasses Hut, and these 2 gigantic banners on the balcony said Sunglasses Hut. There's also about 100 pairs of sunglasses hanging from the ceiling, each one suspended with string or wire of some sort. Normally, this is just a big empty room. But I'm guessing Sunglasses Hut sponsored this weird shindig, and also whatever the hell TINT is probably did as well. Some creepy lady with a TINT t-shirt and a camera took our picture and then ordered us to go pick it up somewhere. Okay, lady. We moved up to the stage, where all the scene kids (mostly girls, of course) were huddled together, frightened. And understandably so. I don't think I've accurately described how fucking weird this scene really was. Oh, I forgot to mention the horrid dance music playing in the background. Except, it wasn't in the background cuz it was really fucking loud. It's like these nutty sunglasses people thought that a bunch of Rooney fans were gonna pretend this place was a dance club for the night or something. It wasn't happening. After a while, a chick named Suzanne comes out on stage and blabs about what's going on, and tells us we're going to see...a fashion show. A fucking fashion show. While some DJ...does what DJ's do. Are you fucking kidding me? But anyway...instead of getting our nice little fashion show then, we get the screen pulled down and we are shown a 30 second video of famous people who wear sunglasses which is looped over and over and over. And the crappy music is still playing. Finally, we get our fashion show. The clothes are kinda funny. The 2 guy models were quite disgusting, and one of the girls was GROSSLY skinny. One of the models definitely exposed her boob to us many times. I'm sure the mommies and daddies loved that.

Some more mind-numbing dance music happens...and finally the next band comes out. I will refrain from using their name because I have nothing good to say about them and that's just not nice. But yeah...they looked like the Strokes...to the point that their drummer looked EXACTLY like Fab, and even drummed the say way. Freaky. The three other guys all looked very hobbit like, and the bassist appeared to be about 12. He was also an idiot. They were like...very classic rock-ish. Reminded me of the Doors. Which, I guess, isn't that bad of a thing. But...we don't need another band that sounds like the Doors. At one point, one of the guys started doing the crazy Muppet squeal, which I'm pretty sure Craig Nicholls patented like 2 years ago or something. Two guys were sharing a mic almost all the time, and leaning in real close. I was really hoping that two of them would kiss or something and redeem their boring set. Didn't happen.

More dance music...then, at 9:30, we finally get Rooney. I gotta say...they really are not the most attractive band on the planet. I won't go into any more detail, but...eww. Rob had on some tight pants though...I was definitely feeling those. Definitely. I liked his jacket too! I guess nobody else did though, because they all squealed with excitement when he took it off. Funny how that happens. What was much funnier, though, was the fact that he was most definitely wearing a woman's shirt underneath it. Maybe someone should have told him. He has a very large mouth, and I thought he looked like a horse. My brother disagreed. I also think he looked like a platypus and acted like a cartoon. Meaning...not real. He didn't seem real.

I played my super fun eye contact game, and I made eye contact with 3 out of the 5 of them...couldn't get the bassist because he was wearing sunglasses (he obviously was getting very into the theme of the party) and the keyboardist was very involved in his playing, and also his long greasy hair was not helpful. I had Rob's eyes for like 15 seconds, but then I was getting creeped out and looked away. I hate it when I lose the eye contact game!

I'm trying to think of other good things...uhh...they sounded alright. Nothing stellar, but nothing bad, either. They played new songs, which I actually liked. When they played I'm Shakin, a lot of the kids really got their shake on. It was funny (in the way that a car wreck is), and I'm pretty sure that some of the guys from the first band were pointing and laughing at some of them from backstage. Beautiful.

I'm kinda bummed because I know I haven't described the weirdness of the night accurately...there were sunglasses...hanging from the ceiling...from the ceiling, I tell you!

Now I have to go to bed, because this evening was mentally draining.

11:09 p.m. - 2004-03-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sk1ttles
unclebob
usinclair
mishmelia
mansonwookie
andrew
rivaldi22
punkdude1
thisisvague
lesslikemath
erinjadem