arienettelyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I.don't.know.why.I.feel.so.tongue.tied

I got to go see Vaux last night. Because I'm evil.

See, I casually brought up the concert at dinner, while my parents (most importantly, my mother) were standing nearby. Because my mother is so disappointed in basically everything my brother does, she was horrified that he wouldn't go with me, and...yeah, he went with me.

Of course, I had to do his work for that night and pay for his ticket. And continuously apologize and thank him all night, due to the attitude he was giving off and his constant "I'm so tired...*yawn*"

But the point is, I got to go. I got to see Vaux in a place slightly larger than my bedroom. It was awesome.

Except for the fact that the whole place was crawling with scenesters. I always feel so uncool around them, because I'm not dressed like them, and they just seem to think they're so awesome and stuff. I feel so out of place, like I shouldn't possibly be listening to this music since I obviously don't know what it's "about", hence my lack of horrible vintage tight ugly clothing.

I saw this kid I used to go to high school with. I always thought he was kinda cool and nonconformist. (Not totally nonconformist, but someone who didn't follow trends like an idiot). He was there all dressed up in the Hardcore/Emo uniform. It's so disgusting. They're just like the Abercrombie and Fitch wearing bastards who were all over my high school. Actually, they're worse because they THINK that they're better. Idiots.

I've always kind of wanted to fit into some sort of scene or group or whatever, I'm sure everyone wants to at some point. Until you grow up and realize how dumb it is to live your life that way...but yeah, enough of my social commentary.

The place is mad small, and I'm not good at making estimates, but I'm gonna go with....150 people? I'll ask my brother later, he's better at that. The first band was called Endicott, and I liked them. The next band was called Rome and I liked them as well. Hardcore shows are cool. The next band's name escapes me, possibly because I wasn't a fan. They...uhh....brought the rock? I don't even know what to say about them. A bunch of oldish (like almost 30) people started moshing violently. It was a bit troubling. The next band was called When Dreams Die, and I just didn't like them at all. Or the booking guy who was all "I don't book nu metal shows, I book HARDCORE shows and if you're afraid of getting hit, get back! I will not tell people they can't dance!" Haha...I love how it's called "dancing."

Anyway....eventually Vaux came on and the lead singer made us all come closer. They were so awesome. They blew away every other band there. The lead singer was so cute, too. He was all excited because this is their first date of their first headlining tour. He said it was the first time they'd ever played last, and they thought only 3 and a half people would be there. They started with At Your Will, which is that mellow Radiohead-Muse-Sigur Ros type song on their album...I think it confused people. But then they got into the rocking and I would just like to say that seeing bands at this place rocks. When the lead singer is just chilling with the crowd and everyone has to keep pushing him away when he gets too close, that is damn cool. The cool thing about the moshing for Vaux was it wasn't constant, they waited for certain parts of the song...the breakdown of Set it to Blow was especially crazy. During one song, I'm not even sure what happened, but there was one person in front of me, so like...one person between me and the lead singers little area...and I guess one of the larger moshing people flung himself into that guy, and we were all pushed back really hard, and somehow simultaneously I was punched in the face and stepped on. It happened so fast...but it still fucking hurts.

I almost forgot that Vaux did a Radiohead cover. Before they played it, they said that they were about to play a Radiohead song...there was a little scattered applause, but most people were just like...."huh????" I figured they would play Creep or Fake Plastic or something, but then I figured they would sound cooler on one of the Kid A songs, since they have those boxes and everything. They played Myxamotosis. It was the perfect song for them. Not to mention the coolest song on Radiohead's new album. They just learned it the night before, so it was a little...spotty..haha...but they should keep practicing it because it's terribly awesome.

There was an ugly girl at the show. She wasn't just an ugly girl, she was like THE ugly girl. I have never seen anything so horrifying. I don't think I can accurately describe the terror...but....ok. She was dressed like a kid, under 25 I would guess. But her face...it was red and white and splotchy, it looked like my face when I had that rash like...a year and a half ago. It looked like she had been stepped on. Have you ever seen Seal's face? It was kind of like that. And shiny. Oh man....

I also thought I saw Brian there, like I was about 99% sure. But then the hat came off and I was like...hmm....I don't think that's him. There was too much hair. I know I haven't seen him in 4 months but when he used to have long hair, he had...well...a bald spot and a receding hairline. This guy didn't. This guy also looked totally out of it. And not in a very Brian way. So in short, it wasn't him.

Chickenhead was also there. (Is that one word?) He really enjoyed Vaux. He is hairy.

There were numerous cute boys there. Many of them appeared to be about 16. The lead singer of Rome (aka hoodie guy) looked mad young...and very yummy. And very serious about his hoodie. He was one of those kids who wears a Whitesnake 1988 tour t-shirt to be cool because you know damn well that he was a fucking fetus in 1988. Yeah.

This is too long. I actually did some schoolwork today. I am awesome.

11:31 a.m. - 2003-11-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sk1ttles
unclebob
usinclair
mishmelia
mansonwookie
andrew
rivaldi22
punkdude1
thisisvague
lesslikemath
erinjadem