arienettelyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you read this whole thing you are my hero

Oh lord...where to start?

...I went to the city last night to see Thursday, Thrice, and Coheed. You probably all know that because I haven't shut up about it for weeks. We got to the Roseland around 5:20, I think, and they've changed their line-up thingie, now they lock up all the kids in these little cages. It's really barbaric. And to make it worse, our cage was right outside the theater where John Leguizamo does his little broadway play thing or whatever the hell it is, so there was a tv on the side of the building playing a clip from his show. The same clip. Over and over and over and over and over and over. Cruel and unusual punishment.

So then we got inside. Went to the front. Started out in the 2nd row back from the stage, way to the left side of it. Coheed played. They were cool. Not as good as on Warped, but better than when they played in Poughkeepsie. The crowd was a bit crazy, but nothing insane.

Then Thrice came out. I was dreading Thrice. Their fans are gorillas. It pretty much sucked to be in the front for them, and I wish we weren't because I might have had more energy for Thursday. But I doubt that if we left we could have got back in. Thrice actually didn't play too badly, surprisingly I recognized a bunch of the songs. I still don't like them, but they put on a good show. I don't think the singer's mic was turned on loud enough though. Maybe it's better that way.

So after Thrice we're all pretty sweaty and gross and beat up, but I was excited anyway because fucking Thursday was coming out and we all know how I feel about Thursday.

Thursday don't set up their own stuff anymore or tune their own instruments. Tucker came out on the drums and Andrew fucked around with his keyboard (but that doesn't really count, right, since he's not really in the band?) but they had other people doing the guitars and stuff. They're such rockstars now.

So anyway, they came out and started with For the Workforce, Drowning again and...if I thought the Thrice fans were gorillas...Jesus Christ. This was 10 times worse than Rhode Island. Halfway through the song my energy was already gone. The security people were spraying water on everyone in the front rows, but it was getting kind of ridiculous because I just kept getting hit in the face with this stream of water and it got all over my glasses so I couldn't see and I couldn't wipe them off because I couldn't move anywhere voluntarily. This went on for 45 minutes. I thought about leaving so many times, but I couldn't bring myself to do it because seeing Thursday from the back while sipping a cool beverage just is not something I can do. They were really awesome, as usual, I honestly think Geoff's voice is getting better. He has so much more range now than he did on...hmm...let's say....waiting? haha...(like one person might think that's funny, oh well). Before they played Steps Ascending, Geoff treated us to the heartwarming story of how he got into a fist fight with his friend when he was 12, and before they could make up, the kid was shot in the head and died. Now...I may be the only person on the planet who finds this to be funny...just think of the logistics of this story. It is unbelievable on so many levels. I don't doubt that it's the truth but the fact that it is the truth is what makes it funny. Are you getting me?

I kinda got sidetracked there, sorry...during that song, Geoff kinda collapsed on his knees, tied the mic wire twice around his neck, and started shouting random things, except we couldn't hear what he was saying because he wasn't singing into the mic, he was just yelling and freaking out...it was really odd, it kind of made me scared.

Hmm....they also played Paris in Flames, Cross Out the Eyes, Understanding in a Car Crash, How Long is the Night, Between Rupture and Rapture, Division St., Signals Over the Air, Marches and Maneuvers, This Song Brought to You By a Falling Bomb, and Jet Black New Year. They probably also played War All the Time and Autobiography of a Nation, but I don't know because we left.

So anyway, the Thursday kids are all kicking my ass and I'm in horrible pain and can't breathe. I was seriously thinking about retiring to the back, especially after they played Signals and people just went fucking nuts. For the record, people who crowd surf to Thursday should be shot. I was about to leave when they started playing Jet Black, which is my favorite Thursday song, so I had to stay even though it's also the loudest and craziest Thursday song. So I got beat up one final time. At the end of the song...(when Geoff was singing "tonight we're gonna party like it's 1999" for reasons known only to himself) this fucking confetti comes flying out from the stage...confetti. Haha, I get it, it's a song about New Years, confetti, that's fucking cute, right?

I couldn't deal with it. I found Randy and we went over to the side and watched them do Falling Bomb from there. I was pretty fucking pissed at this point, but I had to stay and watch that song because of what he does at the end...ohhhh man. Then they started playing Division St and we left.

I left a Thursday show early. They had at LEAST 2 songs left. But I felt like I had been robbed, of something, and I can't really explain why. The confetti thing bothers me so much and it probably seems crazy to everyone else but...earlier in the show Geoff said that anyone who has ever seen them before knows that to them, music is not entertainment, it's life and I'm wondering how the fuck that goes with the confetti. I didn't go there to be entertained, I didn't go there so they put on a fucking show for me. They never have before, why start now?

I realize that when you suddenly have the ability to sell out the Roseland and have the entire place shouting your lyrics back at you, it must inflate your ego quite a bit. But I've kind of idolized this band and never imagined that they would fall into that shit. I guess everyone does, though.

When we were waiting to get on the train, my brother said that he thinks that Geoff just puts on a show, performs like an actor every night, the same way, and that he doesn't really get so affected by the songs, it's just fake. But I can't believe that it's fake, because that would mean that I've given up on something that means a lot to me...we all need our illusions, right?

I actually cried on the train ride home...over this, over absolutely nothing. I'm sure everyone else thought it was a great show. And maybe I'm overreacting. I'm going to see them again on Sunday and I suppose I'll be able to more accurately judge what's an act and what's not. But what if it all is?

I've already kind of resigned myself to the fact that Thursday are not mine anymore, I lost them last night and I'll never get them back. When I told that to my brother, he said "You thought Thursday were yours?" like I was crazy, but I didn't mean it that way. I didn't mean that I was their biggest fan, or their oldest fan, or anything like that. And I didn't mean that I have lost them to the new kids that now listen to them, or that I have any objections with them becoming more popular. Trust me, if anyone wants Thursday to be popular, it's me. They deserve it, and it's about time that talented people got more airplay. But that's not the point...I feel like I lost my connection with them. Before, it was like...I don't know, I could relate to them or something. This makes no sense. I'm sorry. Have you ever had a friend for a long time, and then you just start to realize you have nothing in common, and it hurts really bad, and you don't want to break off the friendship, because it's been going on so long, but you just can't relate to each other anymore. And it all starts to be an act...


Alright, I'll put a stop to the melodrama. It's just something I had to get out. This and listening to "21 and Invincible" on repeat has really brightened my mood :) I get to see Something Corporate on Saturday, and there's no way they can let me down, because I don't care enough about them...I never related to them in the first place. They're just fun. So I'm pretty excited about that.

I'm very bruised. My bra is like...on top of this really big bruise and its killing me. My legs are all bruised up. The new bruises look nice next to the old bruises. I can hardly move my arms, I'm so achy. Oh, I almost forgot, last night after the show I couldn't fucking breathe. I was making these really high pitched noises and it felt like there was no air for me to breathe and it fucking sucked. Usually that only happens when I'm having a panic attack, so I don't know what the deal was last night.

I suppose I'll end on the one good thing about the show...one of the kids who bruised my back with his elbows actually apologized after doing so! It made my night. Oh, and Krammy called me on the train which was kinda cool because we never call each other or anything. Alright, I've got work to do. Everyone have a happy Tuesday, and go buy the Blink album cuz it's really good. (pick up the Thursday album while you're out too, it's a lot better!)

12:08 p.m. - 2003-11-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sk1ttles
unclebob
usinclair
mishmelia
mansonwookie
andrew
rivaldi22
punkdude1
thisisvague
lesslikemath
erinjadem