arienettelyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy New Year to me

Since it's the last day of the year and all, I'm gonna put in my favorite stuff of the year because I'm cool like that and because...I want to. So there.

Best CD's

1) Thursday - War All The Time

It's simply amazing...I didn't think they could get any better. I honestly thought this album was gonna suck, and even though I fell asleep the first time I heard it, it's definitely my favorite of the year. Steps Ascending is such a beautiful song. Tomorrow I'll Be You, Marches and Maneuvers...ahh! And they toned down the screaming! Or...not toned it down so much as put it in more appropriate places. Geoff's voice sounds amazing (considering his lack of talent in the vocal area) and the guitars are wicked and why don't you own this album?

2) Ryan Adams - Rock N Roll

This album is so cheesy...and I love every second of it. It definitely doesn't sound like older Ryan Adams stuff...it's ROCK N ROLL! Haha...I dunno. Give it a chance. Note to Self = the most kickass song of the year.

3) Brand New - Deja Entendu

This album is about 3503009 times better than their first album. It's catchy and groovy and dark and beautiful. The last song...about the ship...I can't remember it's name but holy shit is it awesome. The Boy Who Blocked His Own Shot is very pretty, too. Sic Transit Gloria is wicked. Right. Go listen.

4) Coheed and Cambria - In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth 3

I honestly can't stand to listen to this album anymore, but the musicianship blows my mind. They are incredbily awesome in every way. I prefer their first album cuz it was a bit less...epic, but this one is just...whoa.

5) Vaux - There Must Be Some Way to Stop Them

The only CD besides Bright Eyes that gave me this weird feeling the first time I listened to it...this feeling like I was witnessing a miracle of some sort. This album kicks your ass. It's like....almost nonstop ass kicking. What a great description...

6) AFI - Sing the Sorrow

I only like AFI's old stuff a little bit, but this album is fantastic. I love Davey's voice, I love his lyrics (they're beautiful while not really making sense). It feels like I'm listening to some sort of opera or something when I listen to this...I love it.

7) The Music (self -titled)

These guys are fucking amazing. I dare you to listen to this CD without dancing. It makes me very happy! :)

8) Blink-182

How weird is this??? But yeah, this album rules. I don't know how it happened, but they made an awesome album. A really awesome album. The song with Robert Smith is so yummy!

9) Something Corporate - North

I wasn't expecting great things from this album either, but somehow they improved and are more awesome than ever. I even liked the songs that Josh (I think his name is Joshn, anyway) wrote, which is a pretty big accomplishment.

10) Ryan Adams - Love is Hell EP's

Awesome on many levels...these are all slowish songs but they're very pretty and beautiful...I love This House is Not For Sale and the cover of Wonderwall made me cry...this guy deserves a fucking medal.

Honorable Mentions:

The Postal Service - ? (haha sorry)

Such a great lil pop dancey thing...I love it.

Travis - 12 Memories

They went political, but they still rock. Re-Offender is the shit.

Stellastarr* (self-titled)

The 80's...I love the 80's. And I've gotten over the guy's voice. Another CD of dancing fun!

The White Stripes - Elephant

Gotta love 'em...or maybe you don't. But I do. I don't think this one was as good as White Blood Cells. Oh well.

S.T.U.N. - Evolution of Energy

The guy sounds like the guy from Snapcase...yeah. Anyway, more angry political stuff. I approve.

Radiohead - Hail to the Thief

Only for a few songs...Myxomotosis and the first track....AWESOME. The rest I wasn't too fond of.

The Ataris - So Long, Astoria

Yeah, so sue me. It's a good pop album.

All-American Rejects (self-titled)

Don't pelt me with garbage. This is an even better pop album. Overproduced, but meant to be.

Boy Sets Fire - Tomorrow Come Today

Not as good as older stuff, but still getting the message across. The hidden track is beautiful.

Cursive - The Ugly Organ

This would have been in my top 10 but....well, it's not. It's a REALLY awesome album. Blows my mind. But for some reason I don't really like listening to it anymore.

The Strokes - Room on Fire

If it ain't broke, don't fix it. I love these boys.

OK here's some albums that I was looking forward to, but ended up sucking pretty bad:

Third Eye Blind - Out of the Vein

Sooooooo ridiculously overproduced. They write beautiful songs, but they sound much better before they're fucked with. Not a horrible album, though.

Pete Yorn - Day I Forgot

I love Pete Yorn, but I just do not know what to do with this album.

Story of the Year - Page Avenue

I really liked their demos...nothing terribly original, but good nonetheless....then they went and produced the hell out of the stuff...boo.

Vendetta Red - Between the Never and the Now

I swear, when I saw them live in February they sounded promising. I don't know if I saw a different band or what, but god damn, their recorded stuff sucks.

Thrice - The Artist in the Ambulance.

Boring and derivative and Creed-like and did I mention boring? They do have good live energy though, and some good lyrics. But mostly....boring.

Best Videos: (even though I didn't see very many)

Coldplay - The Scientist

Beautiful and sad and a cool concept...the song is pretty wicked, too.

The White Stripes - The Hardest Button to Button

I don't know why but I think this video is just so damn cool.

Sigur Ros - Untitled 1

Probably the most beautiful video ever made. I cried. Find somewhere you can watch it. It's amazing.

Hot Hot Heat - Bandages

Funny...and the lead singer is cute. Can't beat it.

Brand New - Sic Transit Gloria...Glory Fades

Haha....it's Adam at the end....this video is funny and perplexing. And Jesse runs. Run, Jesse, run. That's a good boy.

Stellastarr* - In the Walls

The picture thingie is so cool...

Linkin Park - Faint

I just love the way the lights look. And I like the song too. Oh well.

I'd do a thing of the best movies and stuff but I do not remember what movies came out this year, and I really didn't see too many....ok, well maybe a lil baby list.

Best Movies

Pirates of the Caribbean

Lord of the Rings: Return of the King

Cold Mountain

Finding Nemo (if that was this year)

The Lizzie McGuire Movie

and there ya go....

Best TV shows

The OC

The Brendan Leonard Show

Late Night with Conan Obrien

That 70's Show

Friends

Hurray, that was a super waste of time. But it's New Year's Eve and I have no plans so does it really matter?


I didn't get my paycheck again today.

Awesome. Maybe next Friday, they said. It's just awesome since my mom owes me over $500 from my work in November....it's great having 2 jobs that won't pay you!

4:31 p.m. - 2003-12-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sk1ttles
unclebob
usinclair
mishmelia
mansonwookie
andrew
rivaldi22
punkdude1
thisisvague
lesslikemath
erinjadem