arienettelyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Destiny gets nervous

So...school.

Modern World will be bearable. Bunch of papers. Cute dorky freshman in front of me. Yay.

The French class...not so hot. A whopping 5 people are in it. One of them is fucking from France and one has lived in Quebec for a semester. Two are French majors. And the other one is me. So the Professor is blabbing on in French faster than I've heard anyone speak it and I was so stoked because I actually understood her, right? So I'm all, yeah, this is gonna be fine, as long as I understand her we're all cool.

Then she asked us to tell her why we were taking this course.

I don't know what the hell came out of my mouth, but it was NOT good French. Or even comprehensible French, probably.

She was nice to me though, and then kept blabbing on about her crap and she mentioned that we have 2 oral presenations. Oh shit. One is 5 minutes. This I could handle. Difficult, but I can do it. The other one is...une demi-heure! or un...I DON'T EVEN KNOW but in English that's a half hour, people. And fuck. No.

So after class we're talking because I've never taken French at New Paltz before and stuff, and I tell her I don't think I'm ready for this and she's all "Well why don't you take Composition and Conversation 2?" And I was all "I already got credit for 1 and 2 from the AP" and then she brought me to her office and gave me a printout of the major requirements...I went there to drop the course and she gave me a whole thing about how I should major in French since I'm already halfway there! She was telling me how I should go to France for my semester abroad in the Spring, not the Fall, because it's depressing then and I didn't even know what to say. I tried to tell her I already had a major but she wouldn't let it die and was blabbing about double majors...I probably would do it, if it weren't for my great fear of speaking French in front of other people. I can't even speak English in front of other people very well! And I'm sure going to France is very nice and all, but I'm sure that my antisocial ways and the fact that I DON'T SPEAK FRENCH might impede my happiness a bit.

My Personality and Psychotherapy class seemed pretty cool. The Great Books Western class that I was thinking of dropping looks like an assload of work, (a paper every week, 11 books) but also really fun. It says on her syllabus that a prerequesite is either having read or watched Lord of the Rings so she has an easy pop culture kind of way to refer to all the crap she talks about...then she asked who has read Lord of the Rings and everyone raised their hand except one girl, and there were 40 people in there. Pretty cool. But this girl was all offended-like. She went into a lil speech about how she has no interest in Lord of the Rings, she saw the preview and told her friend she would not waste money on that! Haha she was so ghetto. I hope she drops, she's also like one of those really annoying people who ask all sorts of dumb questions.

I want to drop French, but I also want to take French, just not this French...yuck. This is no fun. Damn my AP credit.

Something Corporate saved my day today though. They're like...my official driving to school on terrible days band. Since my first day of college. Bless 'em. AND THEIR LITTLE HOBBIT FEET! They always make me smiley!

I also got to listen to Whiskeytown today. Much to my surprise, I was digging it. Country, woo! My iPod rules.

Dude...what will happen with Oliver tonight??? OH THE SUSPENSE!!!!!

Time to watch Deep Impact. I'm stoked.

3:53 p.m. - 2004-01-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sk1ttles
unclebob
usinclair
mishmelia
mansonwookie
andrew
rivaldi22
punkdude1
thisisvague
lesslikemath
erinjadem